Rachmaninoff Vespers (All-Night Vigil)

Saturday 7th February 2015 at 7.30pm

St Andrew Holborn London, EC4A 3AB

In celebration of the hundredth anniversary of its première, Londinium performs one of the greatest of all a cappella choral works: Rachmaninoff's magnificent All-Night Vigil. This monumental setting, enveloping ancient Church Slavonic chant in music of unparalleled richness, was Rachmaninoff's last major work before leaving Russia. It also represents both the final flowering and greatest achievement of the Russian Orthodox tradition before its suppression after the October Revolution. We precede Rachmaninoff's work with Knut Nystedt's haunting O Crux, performed in memory of its composer whose hundredth birthday would have fallen this year.

A glass of wine will be served in the interval.

Andrew Griffiths conductor

 Christmas concert includes Britten's amazing A Boy Was Born - a thirty-minute tour de force, written when the composer was only 19. It's structured as a theme and variations, using a series of Christmas texts.  The rest of the programme will 'answer' the Britten by featuring as nearly as possible alternative settings of the same words by a wide variety of different composers. Some will be well-known (Leighton's Coventry Carol, Cornelius' Three Kings, Darke's In the bleak midwinter), and some less so, including music by Sweelinck, Praetorius and Warlock (Corpus Christi).

Once Upon a Time

Friday 15th May 2015 at 7.30pm

St Sepulchre-without-Newgate, Holborn Viaduct, London EC1A 2DQ

In an intoxicating programme of musical story-telling, Londinium charts a course through the fantastical world of fairy-tale, fable, myth and legend. The landscape through which we journey is peopled by a weird and wonderful cast of characters, amongst them Alice in Wonderland, Ariadne, the King of Thule, Orpheus, Bunyan's Pilgrim and Robin Hood. The fauna is no less remarkable: the Unicorn, Crocodile, Phoenix and Hydra are to be found alongside the Ant and the Grasshopper, all brought to life in a glorious selection of choral music spanning six centuries. Highlights include exquisite madrigals by Monteverdi, beautiful folksongs by Brahms, a remarkable cantata by Martinů and Vaughan Williams' Valiant-for-truth, alongside works by Josquin, Weelkes, Schumann, Gounod, H. Garrett Phillips, David Del Tredici and Ola Gjeilo.

Future Concerts

Friday 3rd July 2015 at 7.30pm

St Sepulchre-without-Newgate, Holborn Viaduct, London EC1A 2DQ

Londinium's final concert of the 2014/15 season will be on Friday 3rd July, at St Sepulchre-without-Newgate.

If you would like information about our concerts and events please join our mailing list.